I’m Leaving Medium

And taking a general break from content creation.

Oren Cohen
2 min readNov 9, 2021

--

Earlier today, I sent my subscribers an email telling them I’m taking a break from content creation.

It’s been a long time coming for me.

You can read that announcement here.

For Medium, I’ve seen fewer and fewer views of my content, and it seems like the platform is spearheading a model where if you publish more, you get pushed more, no matter the quality of your posts. Of all the hundreds of articles I published here, only a handful are gaining any traction.

And, having a full-time job, this publishing model doesn’t fit people like me.

I’ve been through a lot on Medium. Ever since I joined the platform in Feb. 2019, I met a lot of people and read a lot of posts.

Somewhere along the way, something changed I guess.

I’ve never been big on this platform, my follower count is evidence. Aside from one article that really blew up for me, my results were mediocre at best.

But Medium taught me what it felt like publishing in a magazine. Where an editor (or a curator) reads your stuff and approves them. Medium was also the platform where my email subscribers really took off.

It’s been really fun, but now I’m taking a break from content creation. And for the foreseeable future, I don’t see myself focusing on Medium itself. I’ll probably use the platform to republish content from my blog.

Thank you so much for reading me and for being a part of the journey.

Talk again soon,
Oren

Join 50+ writers who built a writing habit through my 30-day challenge.

--

--